MDE Issues Drought Watch

On Monday, MDE released an official declaration of a drought watch for central and western Maryland. The affected counties are Allegany, Baltimore, Carroll, Cecil, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, and Washington Counties, except those areas served by the Baltimore City or WSSC public water systems. 

No action is required for any water system at this time, but MDE is encouraging all Marylanders throughout the state to take voluntary steps to reduce their water use by 5%-10%. Our website has tips for water conservation for the general public, and for specialized users such as restaurants and commercial buildings. For more information about actions taken at different drought status levels, please refer to the Drought Monitoring and Response Plan

We are continuing bi-weekly drought monitoring at this time. Attached to this email is our most recent monitoring, which includes data to July 9th. Please check the MDE drought landing page for the most up to date monitoring report.